16 replies to this topic

#1 Ezekiel

Ezekiel

Defiant Little Prick

• Demigod
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,006 posts

Posted 07 February 2006 - 12:11 PM

Alright. I've been using my Dell for over 3 years now. And, though I hate to admit it, it's been a decent computer. Besides the time the video card got fried (Thank god for warrenties.). On it I have a 48x CD-ROM drive, and a 32x write and read CD-ROM drive (I know, no DvD, but my mom bought me the computer for x-mas and I wasn't going to say sh*t.). As of last year my top CD drive (The 48x read one.) started to selectively choose what it read. Basically unless it was an audio CD, it didn't read it. I figured, it's old, probably on it's last leg. So I just started using the bottom drive for all my gaming. Which most of my games didn't use a CD past installation.

Now as of last week or 2, the bottom drive has suddenly stopped working. At first, wierd I know, would only read games if I put in an audio CD first. :wtf: Then It just stopped reading anything. Both drives are compeltely useless. I put in a cd, it revvs up, blinks a light, then stops.

Alright, now that the background is over with, to the real point of this post. Is there anything I can do to fix the drives? Cause as of now the only games I can play are CS:S, and Planetside. Which, though isn't horrible, gets incredably dull on days with extra amounts of free time.

Oh, and I'm currently building my next computer. I just have absolutly no money right now, because the weather the last few weeks has just sucked balls, cutting my hours worked from 25 to a sh*tty, barely pay for gas for my car, 5 hrs. Though, this week has picked up and my next paycheck will be back to normal, I have plenty of expences that already consume my next paycheck.

Edited by Ezekiel, 07 February 2006 - 12:14 PM.

#2 Cyprus

Cyprus

Combine Elite

• Dedicated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts

Posted 07 February 2006 - 12:24 PM