24 replies to this topic

#1 Chris82

Chris82

Serpentis Rear Admiral

• Server Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,720 posts

Posted 18 December 2006 - 05:03 PM

Alright, so it looks like I'm going to change my build slightly.

AMD 4000+ S939 2.4GHz Processor
Asus S939 PCi-e mobo
ATi x1650Pro Gamer Edition
Western Digital 250GB Sata3 HD
RAIDMAX Case with fans, window, etc...
APEVIA 500w psu
Thermaltake CPU Fan
Arctic Silver 5 CPU Compound

I will be using this guide as I have never built a PC before.

Soon after I will get:
This mouse
This keyboard and
This monitor.

I also have some questions about this sh*t though...

1. Can I install the regular version of Windows XP Professional and still run 64-bit apps like Half-Life 2, or do I need Windows Professional x64?
2. Since that hard drive is OEM, do I need to buy screws, racks, etc...or does that sh*t come with the case?

Also, as before, find something better at the same price or cheaper, let me know. (Please no IDE hard drives, memory, etc...

Edited by Chris82, 18 December 2006 - 05:03 PM.

#2 The Drizzle

The Drizzle

Who is the drizzle?

• Dedicated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 692 posts

Posted 18 December 2006 - 05:37 PM

Socket 939 is dying. It will be hard to find processors soon. There isnt anything wrong with socket AM2. DDR2 isnt great but its not worse than DDR. I personally wouldnt build a new socket 939 system right now. Also, an OEM processor only has a 90 day warranty. I like the piece of mind a retail proc brings, with a 3 year warranty. Even if you dont use the fan, the warranty is better.

I like the seagate 7200.10 series better than that WD. They are just as fast as my 10k rpm raptor. The price isnt much diffrent either. Longer warranty as well.

I wouldnt put that PSU in a system I built, it dosent seem up to par to me. When choosing a PSU, wattage isnt everything. Its about the amps on the 12v rail(s). Do yourself a favor and dont skimp on this.