9 replies to this topic

#1 Sniprwulf

Sniprwulf

demolition expert

• Dedicated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts

Posted 19 October 2005 - 11:06 PM

I first starting searching for an alternative to internet explorer about 3 years ago. I've come across numerous names which we've all probably heard. The one that the majority of people think first of is firefox. I agree, its a great alternative to IE6, but I believe that maxthon, aka myie2, is the better alternative. I've been using it for two years and have found it to be more stable, shows pages more correctly, and has better overall useful tools. theres some cool customization factors and its closer to the inernet explorer format than firefox is. the tabbed part of the browser is probably one of the most convienent things. not trying to get anyone to switch, just throwing my opinion out there. Just wanted to see what you guys think.

#2 monster

monster

You live on pen island

• Dedicated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,653 posts

Posted 19 October 2005 - 11:34 PM

I think your sig is entirely too big.

That being said.

Pages being loaded correctly? That is up to the designer to test their pages in whichever browser they choose. In my opinion, if a page loads properly in maxthon and not in Firefox or IE, then it is poorly designed. When I make web pages, I test in IE and Firefox. That covers the majority. Sorry opera and others.

I haven't used maxthon, and I probably never will. Firefox has so many more features than IE. Apparently, so does maxthon. But, firefox is supported a lot more by the browser community. I'll stick with mozilla for now.

#3 Billy Pumper

Billy Pumper

Lord of the Posts

• Dedicated Member
  • 4,064 posts

Posted 19 October 2005 - 11:53 PM

agreed^^^^ changing to something else when what i have works so good is kinda pointless but i am sure nothing is wrong with yours but like monster said firefox is more widely used so whatever

#4 DarkShadow

DarkShadow